OUR objectives

To encourage management excellence and specialist expertise.

To help members achieve their personal aspirations, fulfil their career ambitions and develop their innate potential.

To support lifelong learning and encourage education in management and specialist areas.

To give professional recognition to the knowledge and skills of managers and specialists.

  • The Institute of Management Specialists (IMS), founded in 1971, is a United Kingdom based professional qualification awarding body.

  • The IMS is listed in British Qualifications– the British Council’s reference book, published by Kogan Page Ltd.

    Applicants will be assessed on their education, training, knowledge, skill and experience (K.S.E.) and responsibility.



Please Note - The Institute of Management Specialists has changed mailing address

Office 13275
PO BOX 4336
Manchester M610BW
United Kingdom

September 2017

The IMS has restructured the diploma programs it offers to make them OFQUAL recognised. Visit the courses page for more details.

July 2017

Congratulations to the IMS President Simon Skerrit who was awarded a Ph.D for his work in the area of Quality Control Management

May 2017



Specialised Manager Award
Associate Members, Full Members, Fellows or Companion Members who satisfy one of the below criteria:

- At least four years specialised management experience in one of the listed specialised management areas

- 30 credit hours in subjects in the direct specialised area

- or a combination of the above which satisfies the Institute of Management Specialists award committee


Certified Specialist Manager Award

Specialised Managers who complete the IMS Continuous Professional Development program (CPD) will be awarded Certified Specialist Manager status.

The CPD requirements are 5 professional development activities per year.

Note - if any individual activity consists of greater than 15 hours of learning, it may be counted as two activities.